The Aryabhatta Knowledge University Act, 2008

Section 27

27. Powers to make Statutes
Subject to the provisions of this Act, the Statutes may provide for all or any of the following matters, namely:
(1) the constitution, powers and functions of the authorities and other bodies of the University, as may be found necessary to be constituted from time to time; (2) the appointment and continuance in office of the members of the said authorities and bodies of the University, the filling up of vacancies of members, and all other matters relating to those authorities and other bodies for which it may be necessary or desirable to provide. (3) the appointment, powers and duties of the officers of the University, and terms and conditions of their service; (4) the manner of appointment of the teachers of the University, other academic staff or other employees and their emoluments; (5) the manner of appointment of teachers and other academic staff working in any other university for a specified period for undertaking a joint project, their terms and conditions of service and emoluments; (6) the constitution of the pension or the provident fund and the establishment of an insurance scheme for the benefit of the employees of the University and those of colleges and institutions; (7) the principles governing the seniority of employees of the University, colleges and institutions; (8) the procedure for arbitration in cases of dispute between employees or students and the University; (9) the procedure for appeal to the Executive Council by an employee or student against the action of any officer or authority of the university; (10) the conditions under which colleges and institutions may be admitted to the privileges of the University and the conditions under which such privieleges may be withdrawn; (11) the constitution of governing bodies of colleges and institutions admitted to the privileges of the University and the supervision and inspection of such collges and institutions; (12) the extent of the autonomy which a college or an institution declared as an autonomous college or institution may be exercised; (13) the conferment of honorary degrees; (14) the withdrawal of degrees, diplomas, certificate and other academic distinctions; (15) the institution of fellowships, scholarships, studentship, medals and prizes and other incentives; (16) the maintenance of discipline among the employees and students of the University, and of colleges and institutions; (17) the establishment of chairs, schools of studies, departments, colleges and institutions; (18) the delegation of powers vested in the authorities or the officers of the University; and
(19) all other matters which, by or under this Act, are to be, or may be, provided for by the Statutes.

Previous     Home     Next