The Aryabhatta Knowledge University Act, 2008

Section 2

2. Definitions
In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:
(1) ‘Academic Council’ means the Academic Council of the University; (2) ‘Academic Staff’ means such categories of staff as are designated by the Statutes to be the academic staff of the University; (3) ‘Affiliation’ means affiliation granted by the University in accordance with the Statutes and Regulations made for the purpose. (4) ‘All India Council for Technical Education’ means Council-constituted under All India Council for Technical Education Act, 1987 (Central Act 52 of 1987); (5) ‘Affiliated Institution’ means an institution of higher learning affiliated by the University; (6) ‘Autonomous College or Institutes’ means such college or institute which has been declared autonomous by the University under the provisions prescribed in the relevant statutes; (7) ‘Chancellor’ and ‘Vice-Chancellor’ mean, respectively, the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor of the Universityl; (8) ‘College’ means an institution maintained or controlled by the University or maintained by the State Government; (9) ‘Council of Architecture’ means the Council constituted under Section 3 of the Architects Act, 1972 (Act 20 of 1972); (10) ‘Court’ means the Court of the University; (11) ‘CSIR’ means Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, New Delhi, an angency of the Central Government; (12) ‘Dental Council of India’ means Denatl Council constituted under Section-3 of the Dentist Act-1948 (Act 16 of 1948) and its Amenment Act 1993; _________________________________________________ 1. Published in Bihar Gazette Ext-Ord. dated 11.8.2008.  
(13) ‘Department’ means a department of Teaching, Learning and Research of the Universtiy; (14) ‘Director means the Head of an institution; (15) ‘Employee’ means any person appointed by the University, College or Institution, as the case may be; (16) ‘Engineering & Technology’ means courses approved by All India Council for Technical Education; (17) ‘Executive Council’ means the Executive Council of the University; (18) ‘Governing Body’, in relation to a college or an institution, means the governing body or any other body, by whatever name called, charged with the management of the affairs of such college or institution, as the case may be, and recognized as such by the University; (19) ‘Government’ means the Government of Bihar; (20) ‘Hall’ means a unit of residence or of corporate life for the students of the University, a college or an institution provided, maintained or recognized by the University; (21) ‘Institution’ means an academic institution or a college, maintained by, or admitted to the privileges of the University; (22) ‘Medical Council of India, means Medical Council of India constituted by India Medical Council Act, 1956 (Act 102 of 1956) and its amendment Act 1993; (23) ‘Misconduct’ means a misconduct prescribed by the Statutes; (24) ‘Notification’ means a notification published in the Official Gazette; (25) ‘Pharmacy Council of India’ means the Central Council constituted under Section-3 of the Pharmacy Act, 1948; (26) ’Principal’ means the head of a college and includes, where there is no principal, the person who is for the time being duly appointed to act as the principal, and , in the absence of the Principal or the acting Principal, as the case may be, a Vice-Principal duly appointed as such; (27) ‘Professional Education’ means education connected with a job that needs special training or skill, and includes Engineering & Technology including Management, Information Technology, Medical; Dental, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Law Teaching etc.; (28) ‘Recognized teachers/ means such persons as are approved by the University for the purpose of imparting instruction in a college or an institution admitted to the privileges of the University; (29) ‘School’ means a school of studies of the University; (30) ‘School of Studies’ means the School of Studies of the University; (31) ‘Self Financing Institution’ means those institutions which are set-up by a Trust or a Society and are Self Financing; (32) ‘Statutes’, ‘Ordinances’ and ‘Regulations’ mean respectively the Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations of the University for the time being in force;  
(33) ‘Technical Staff’ means employees working in the technical cadre of the University; (34) ‘University’ means the Aryabhatta Knowledge University as incorporated under this Act; (35) ‘University Grants Commission’ means the Commission established under Section-4 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 (Central Act 3 of 1956); (36) ‘University teachers’ means professors, readers/ associate professors, lecturers/assistant professors and such other persons as may be appointed for imparting instruction or conducting research in the University. Or in any college or institution maintained by the University and are designated as teachers by the Statutes;

Previous     Home     Next